Imagery: An Explanation

Sometimes the way you write is just as marketable as what you write.  In Chronicles of Orm, Legend of Cre – lo – Way, the writer uses Imagery to bring light, color, and symphony to each scene.

Imagine if you will that you have two hexagon paving tiles, commonly used in a backyard patio.  One is plain gray with no distinguishing characteristics other than being heavy to hold.  The other begins in the story in the same manner, but…  As Cre – lo – Way gives his decree, that simple tile becomes a wonder of transformation.  From its humble beginning, your tile is now translucent, capable of shooting brilliant rays of light hundreds of feet into the air in either white or any color combination the scene may require.  In addition, the color and light show comes complete with throbbing symphony of sound.  Add an ability to key into the arrival or departure of key characters or play into a mood change and you have the characteristics of Imagery.  In this manner the force of Imagery becomes a third or fourth character in any scene, capable of detailing mood and atmosphere to any plot.

An example of Imagery is given below so that you might get a better idea of how Imagery can be used to highlight a poem/song.  In this example, our heroine, Song, brings out her question – Am I in love with a statue or a man?  This key setting in our story tells of our star female character as she wonders – am I in love with a statue – an image of how great her boy friend is – or him as a man.

One could read this as a simple poem and that would be one thing, but as you might tell from the example, by introducing Imagery, it makes the poem/song quite something different.  Remember that translucent tile that you’re still holding…

“How then, may I…  May I help him if so little in known of my dear, dear, Cre – lo – Way…”

No man knew of an answer, but all held silent for her.  She twisted her hands of angst, chin of tremble, word forming again from the depth of her heart.

Tile played refrain for her thoughts, gently blowing rich peach colors in tumble around her, helping her to stand before all others…

-Orchestration of tile-

“Who am I to wonder

What have I to dread

Why am I downhearted

Or maybe…  Just sick inside my head

Oh…  When he holds me

He takes my breath away

I’ll fly with him forever

Wherever he goes?  I’ll stay – aye – aye – aye

Oh – oh – ah – aye

Yet part of me has question

Help me understand

Am I in love with a statue…Or a man?”

-Orchestration of tile changes to a broader theme with bright strokes of emerald and crimson for him-

“When he takes off on adventure

I’ll fly away with him

Help him through each moment

Whether happiness or grim…

Oh…  Someday they’ll take his name

Create a statue for his fame

Will I then be counted

Or be left outside in shame

Oh – oh – ah – and aye

Yet part of has question

Help me understand…

Am I in love with a statue…Or a man?

Tile pulsed with rose and peach colored fountains of light, bugling her question to courtyard and beyond.

Do you understand Imagery from definition and example?  Does light, color, and symphony mean more to you now that Imagery is expressed in these terms?  If so, then go ahead and play with the concept in your next turn at an article or verse.  See what Imagery do for you.

Contact Fictionbypalmer@gmail.com., for more amazing possibilities with Imagery.

